CECAFA Club Championships set to start

Its that time of the year again, as the annual CECAFA Kagame Cup. the competition for the defending legaue champions various East and Central African nations kicks off from the 30th of June to the 12th of July.

This year Sudan, via the big bucks of El Merreikh FC, are the hosts of the competition. kenya will be represented by, Tusker (defending CECAFA Cup champions) and Mathare united, (qualifiers through winning the 2008 KPL title) This season’s tournament also sees the appearance of Congolese powerhouse TP Mazembe Englebert. the club were invited as guests to fill in the gap by the withdrawal of Ethiopa and Eritrea’s reperesntatives.

Full groups and host cities below

Group “A” (El Mereikh Stadium, Khartoum):

El Mereikh (Sudan)
Atraco (Rwanda)
Mathare United (Kenya)
Kartileh Djibsat (Djibouti)

Group “B” (Khartoum Stadium):

TP Mazembe (Congo, Kinshasa)
KCC (Uganda)
Tanzania Prisons (Tanzania)
Benadir Telecom (Somalia)

Group “C” (Port Sudan):

Tusker (Defending champions, Kenya)
Hey el Arab (Sudan)
AS Inter Stars (Burundi)
Miembeni (Zanzibar)

More info from the Kenya Premier League website


Author: kimemiamaina

blogger, writer, dreamer...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s